IFJA Releases 2020 Film Awards

Nomadland,” the tale of a woman who eschews convention to live out of her van while exploring her own spiritual road map, took top honors at the 2020 Indiana Film Journalists Association awards, winning four prizes including Best Picture, Best Actress for Frances McDormand, and Best Adapted Screenplay and Best Director for Chloé Zhao.

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” won the runner-up prize for Best Picture as well Best Ensemble Acting. In addition, eight other movies were announced as Finalists, which along with the winners represent the IFJA’s picks for the top 10 films of the year.

Acting honors

Delroy Lindo won Best Actor for “Da 5 Bloods,” Maria Bakalova was named Best Supporting Actress for “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm,” and Leslie Odom Jr. won Best Supporting Actor for “One Night in Miami.” Jamie Foxx won for Best Vocal/Motion Capture Performance for “Soul.”

Other awards

Indiana University graduate Eliza Hittman took Best Original Screenplay for “Never Rarely Sometimes Always.” “Another Round” was named Best Foreign Language Film, “Soul” won Best Animated Film, and “Dick Johnson is Dead” won Best Documentary Film.

Hoosier Award

The Hoosier Award was given to the documentary “Athlete A,” which chronicles the sexual abuse of gymnasts, the attempt to cover it, and the heroic journalism that brought it to light. The IFJA issued the following statement along with the award:

“We congratulate The Indianapolis Star investigative team, the filmmakers, and especially the survivors for having the bravery and persistence to speak an uncomfortable truth and tell a story that needed to be told. ‘Athlete A’ represents the finest achievement in both journalism and documentary filmmaking.”





Arts Channel Indy film critic Andy Ray is a member of the Indiana Film Journalists Association.


© 2024 Copyright Arts Channel Indy. All Rights Reserved.